The tribunal has a chairman, four other members, a secretary, and research and support staff, with offices in Ottawa. The tribunal conducts public and closed hearings, personal interviews, in-house research, statistical and financial analysis, interviews with Canadian manufacturers and associations, and inspection of facilities. It reports to Parliament through the minister of finance.

Army Benevolent Fund Board. The board, established by the Army Benevolent Fund Act (SC 1947, c.49, as amended by SC 1974-75-76, c.3), administers the Army Benevolent Fund and other like funds, from special accounts set up in the Consolidated Revenue Fund. The board awards grants from the special account to veterans or their dependents for relief, if none is available from government sources, and for educational assistance, contingent on need and continued progress. The board has five members appointed by the Governor-in-Council, one of them nominated by the Royal Canadian Legion and one by the National Council of Veterans Associations in Canada. Head office is in Ottawa. The board reports to Parliament through the minister of veterans affairs.

Atlantic Development Council (Atlantic Development Council Canada). Created under the 1969 Government Organization Act (SC 1968-69, c.28), the council is composed of 11 members, including a chairman and vice-chairman, appointed by the Governor-in-Council to reflect the economic structure of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland. Its function is to advise the minister of regional economic expansion on matters to which his duties, powers and functions extend in respect to the Atlantic region, and particularly on plans, programs and proposals for fostering the economic expansion and social adjustment of the Atlantic region, and the feasibility and merits of particular programs and projects. Members of the council serve without remuneration. The council's office is located in St. John's. Nfld.

Atomic Energy of Canada Ltd. This Crown company was incorporated in February 1952 under the Atomic Energy Control Act, 1946 (RSC 1970, c.A-19) to take over in April 1952 the operation of the Chalk River project from the National Research Council. The main activities of AECL are the design, development and construction of CANDU nuclear power stations; the construction and operation of heavy water production plants and development of heavy water technology; operation of research and engineering development laboratories; the production and marketing of radioisotopes for medical and industrial uses and the design, manufacture and marketing of equipment using radioisotopes, such as therapy units for the treatment of cancer. The company reports to Parliament through the minister of energy, mines and resources.

Atomic Energy Control Board. By act of Parliament (RSC 1970, c.A-19) proclaimed October 1946, the regulation and control of atomic energy in Canada was placed under the Atomic Energy Control Board. The board reports to Parliament through the minister of energy, mines and resources.

Bank of Canada. Legislation of 1934 (RSC 1970, c.B-2) provided for the establishment of a central bank in Canada to regulate credit and currency, to control and protect the external value of the Canadian dollar and to stabilize the level of production, trade, prices and employment as far as possible within the scope of monetary action. The Bank of Canada acts as the fiscal agent of the Government of Canada, manages the public debt and has the sole right to issue notes for circulation. It is managed by a board of directors appointed by the government, composed of a governor, a deputy governor and 12 directors; the deputy minister of finance is also a member of the board (ex officio). The bank reports to Parliament through the minister of finance.

Blue Water Bridge Authority. Created by the Blue Water Bridge Authority Act (SC 1964, c.6), this non-profit organization is responsible for the operation of the Canadian portion of the bridge spanning the St. Clair River from Point Edward, Ont., to Port Huron, Mich. Tolls set are subject to the approval of the Canadian Transport Commission. All toll moneys must be used for the operation and maintenance of the present bridge or for building a new one. The authority is not an agent of the Crown but its members are appointed by the Governor-in-Council on the recommendation of the minister of transport for terms ranging from one to five years.

Board of Examiners for Canada Lands Surveyors. Established under the Canada Lands Survey Act (RSC 1970, c.L-5; amended by SC 1972, c.17, SC 1974-75-76, c.108; and SC 1976-77, c.30), the board examines candidates for commissions as Canada lands surveyors and is responsible for their discipline. The board has five members appointed by the Governor-in-Council, one of whom, the chairman, is the surveyor general of Canada lands; it is part of the energy, mines and resources department.

Bureau of Pensions Advocates (Bureau of Pensions Advocates Canada). The bureau was established in 1971 by amendments to the Pension Act (SC 1970-71, c.31). Composed of a chief pensions advocate appointed by the Governor-in-Council, and pensions advocates, officers and employees appointed under the Public Service Employment Act, it provides an independent professional legal aid service to applicants